BILL ANALYSIS                                                                                                                                                                                                    

          SENATOR ALAN LOWENTHAL, CHAIRMAN               AUTHOR:  huber
                                                         VERSION: 1/14/10
          Analysis by: Art Bauer                         FISCAL:  yes
          Hearing date: June 15, 2010


          El Dorado County Transportation Commission


          This bill increases and revises the membership of the El Dorado  
          County Transportation Commission.


          The Department of Transportation (Caltrans) designated the El  
          Dorado County Transportation Commission (EDCTC) as a regional  
          transportation planning agency (RTPA) by in 1975. EDCTC's  
          jurisdiction is all of El Dorado County, except the Lake Tahoe  
          Basin, which is under the jurisdiction of the Tahoe Regional  
          Planning Agency. 

          Between 1975 and 1995, EDCTC was a unit of the El Dorado County  
          Department of Public Works. Existing law at the time required  
          that the board of supervisors and the City of Placerville each  
          appoint three members. In 1995, the County of El Dorado and the  
          City of Placerville executed a joint powers agreement  
          establishing EDCTC as an independent agency separate from county  
          government. The structure of its governing board remained the  

          SB 902 (Leslie), Chapter 436, Statutes of 1996, established  
          EDCTC as a statutorily created regional transportation planning  
          agency and codified the joint powers agreement between El Dorado  
          County and the City of Placerville. SB 902 established a  
          governing board consisting of three members appointed by the El  
          Dorado County Board of Supervisors and three members appointed  


          AB 1204 (HUBER)                                          Page 2


          by the City of Placerville.

           This bill  :

             1)   Increases the membership of the EDCTC governing board  
               from six to seven members. 

             2)   Increases the members appointed by the county board of  
               supervisors from three to four members.

             3)   Specifies that each incorporated city within El Dorado  
               County (excluding cities in the Lake Tahoe Basin) shall  
               appoint two members to the board, unless there is only one  
               incorporated city, in which case that city shall have three  
               appointed members.
              1)   Purpose  . Currently the City of Placerville, the only  
               incorporated city in the jurisdiction of the EDCTC, has  
               three representatives on EDCTC's governing board. This  
               purpose of this bill is to revise the membership of EDCTC  
               and the distribution of municipal representation within El  
               Dorado County in the event one or more new cities are  
               incorporated. At the time of the incorporation of a new  
               city, Placerville's representation would be reduced from  
               three members to two members and the new city would have  
               two representatives. Should this occur the size of the  
               governing board would increase from seven to eight members.  
               With the incorporation of each additional city, no existing  
               city would lose membership, but each new city would be  
               entitled to two representatives on EDCTC's governing board.  

              2)   Shift in El Dorado County's population drives  
               representation reform  . The 1996 legislation established the  
               current structure of EDCTC's representation. According to  
               the author, El Dorado Hills' population and the  
               transportation needs within the county have changed  
               dramatically since then. Currently, the population of El  
               Dorado Hills is approximately 35,000 while the population  
               of Placerville is approximately 10,000. There has been one  
               unsuccessful incorporation vote in El Dorado Hills, and it  
               is likely there will be another effort to incorporate the  
               community. Recognizing the shifting population dynamics in  
               the county and the aspiration of many to create a second  


          AB 1204 (HUBER)                                          Page 3


               city, the EDCTC established a fourteen-member citizens'  
               advisory committee to examine the composition of EDCTC's  
               governing board and recommend changes to its structure.  
               After holding six public hearings throughout the county,  
               the committee recommended that board representation take  
               into account population, geography, community diversity,  
               ease of communication, balance, and flexibility to allow  
               for future incorporated cities to gain representation.  
               EDCTC unanimously voted to recommend the language that is  
               now in this bill.

              3)   Responsibilities of EDCTC  . As an RTPA, EDCTC is  
               responsible for allocating Transportation Development Act  
               revenues, adopting a countywide regional transportation  
               plan, preparing the regional transportation improvement  
               program, which is the county's capital outlay program for  
               transportation investments, and conducting various  
               transportation studies.

               EDCTC is in the area of jurisdiction of the Sacramento Area  
               Council of Governments (SACOG), the federally designated  
               metropolitan planning organization for the six county  
               Sacramento region. A memorandum of understanding between  
               the two agencies defining their mutual responsibilities was  
               entered into in 1994. Among the responsibilities of SACOG  
               is to ensure the federally required regional transportation  
               plan, which includes projects nominated by EDCTC, meets the  
               federal air quality standards. In addition, SACOG includes  
               the EDCTC transportation projects in the federally required  
               transportation improvement program. Meeting the air quality  
               standards and including projects in the transportation  
               improvement program are prerequisites for the region  
               receiving federal highway and transit funding. In addition,  
               both agencies agree to use common data bases and  
               information sources in developing their plans and  
               transportation investment programs. 

              4)   Double Referral  . This bill has been also referred to  
               Rules Committee. 
          Assembly Votes:
               Floor:    68-0
               Appr: 17-0
          Local Gov't:   10-0

          POSITIONS:  (Communicated to the Committee before noon on  


          AB 1204 (HUBER)                                          Page 4


                     June 9, 2010)

               SUPPORT:  El Dorado County Transportation Commission  
                         Four Seasons Civic League
               OPPOSED:  None received.