BILL ANALYSIS                                                                                                                                                                                                    Ó


          |SENATE RULES COMMITTEE            |                        SJR 20|
          |Office of Senate Floor Analyses   |                              |
          |1020 N Street, Suite 524          |                              |
          |(916) 651-1520         Fax: (916) |                              |
          |327-4478                          |                              |
                                 UNFINISHED BUSINESS

          Bill No:  SJR 20
          Author:   Leno (D)
          Amended:  6/17/14 
          Vote:     21

           SENATE FLOOR  :  28-3, 5/1/14
          AYES:  Anderson, Berryhill, Block, Cannella, Corbett, Correa, De  
            León, DeSaulnier, Evans, Gaines, Galgiani, Hernandez, Hill,  
            Hueso, Jackson, Lara, Leno, Lieu, Liu, Mitchell, Monning,  
            Padilla, Pavley, Roth, Steinberg, Torres, Wolk, Wyland
          NOES:  Knight, Morrell, Vidak
          NO VOTE RECORDED:  Beall, Calderon, Fuller, Hancock, Huff,  
            Nielsen, Walters, Wright, Yee

           ASSEMBLY FLOOR  :  76-0, 6/26/14 (Consent) - See last page for  

           SUBJECT  :    Safeguard Our Coast Day

           SOURCE  :     Author

           DIGEST  :    This resolution recognizes the 50th anniversary of  
          the states leadership and innovation in coastal planning and  
          management and proclaims February 16, 2015, and each third  
          Monday of February thereafter, as "Safeguard Our Coast Day."

           Assembly Amendments  make clarifying changes.

           ANALYSIS  :    This resolution makes the following legislative  


                                                                     SJR 20


           1. The increasing and competing demands upon coastal lands and  
             waters occasioned by population growth and economic  
             development have resulted in adverse changes to fragile  
             ecological systems and decreased open space for public  

           2. An innovative strategy for protecting and enhancing the  
             coast and managing conflicts between development and coastal  
             resource protection has been in effect on a regional scale  
             since 1965 in the San Francisco Bay area and for the entire  
             California coast since 1972.

           3. The National Coastal Zone Management Program was authorized  
             by the federal Coastal Zone Management Act of 1972 (CZMA) to  
             balance economic development with the need to preserve,  
             protect, enhance, and restore the nation's coastal resources.

           4. The CZMA promotes coordination between the federal  
             government and the states by encouraging coastal states to  
             prepare coastal management programs that guide both state and  
             federal activities affecting the coast.

           5. California's coastal management program is implemented by  
             various entities within the Natural Resources Agency,  
             including the San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development  
             Commission, the California Coastal Commission, the Ocean  
             Science Trust, and the State Coastal Conservancy, working  
             together and in partnership with the Ocean Protection  
             Council, the Ocean Science Trust, the State Lands Commission,  
             the Department of Fish and Wildlife, and other public  
             agencies and non-profit organizations to carry out CZMA  

           6. The San Francisco Bay Conservation and Development  
             Commission, established by the McAteer-Petris Act in 1965,  
             plans and regulates activities in and around the San  
             Francisco Bay and the Suisun Marsh.

           7. The California Coastal Commission, established by voter  
             initiative in 1972 and on a permanent basis by the  
             Legislature in 1976, cooperates with local governments to  
             manage the conservation and orderly development of coastal  



                                                                     SJR 20

             resources through a comprehensive planning and regulatory  

           8. The State Coastal Conservancy, established by the  
             Legislature in 1976, complements the work of the two  
             permitting agencies by employing nonregulatory,  
             entrepreneurial techniques and collaboration to implement  
             projects to preserve, protect, and restore public access,  
             natural resources, urban waterfronts, and agricultural lands  
             along the Pacific coast and the San Francisco Bay shoreline  
             and its adjacent counties.

           9. These three coastal management agencies, along with other  
             departments of the Natural Resources Agency, are  
             demonstrating leadership in the field of adaptation to  
             climate change and sea level rise, which are increasingly  
             threatening California's coast and economy.

          This resolution recognizes the 50th anniversary of the state's  
          leadership and innovation in coastal planning and management and  
          proclaims February 16, 2015, and each third Monday of February  
          thereafter, as "Safeguard Our Coast Day."

           FISCAL EFFECT  :    Fiscal Com.:  No

           ASSEMBLY FLOOR  :  76-0, 6/26/14
          AYES: Achadjian, Alejo, Allen, Ammiano, Bigelow, Bloom,  
            Bocanegra, Bonilla, Bonta, Bradford, Brown, Buchanan, Ian  
            Calderon, Campos, Chau, Chávez, Chesbro, Conway, Cooley,  
            Dababneh, Dahle, Daly, Dickinson, Donnelly, Eggman, Fong, Fox,  
            Frazier, Beth Gaines, Garcia, Gatto, Gomez, Gonzalez, Gordon,  
            Gray, Grove, Hagman, Hall, Harkey, Roger Hernández, Holden,  
            Jones, Jones-Sawyer, Levine, Linder, Lowenthal, Maienschein,  
            Mansoor, Medina, Melendez, Mullin, Muratsuchi, Nazarian,  
            Nestande, Olsen, Pan, Patterson, Perea, John A. Pérez, V.  
            Manuel Pérez, Quirk, Quirk-Silva, Ridley-Thomas, Rodriguez,  
            Salas, Skinner, Stone, Ting, Wagner, Waldron, Weber,  
            Wieckowski, Wilk, Williams, Yamada, Atkins
          NO VOTE RECORDED: Gorell, Logue, Rendon, Vacancy

          RM:nl  6/27/14   Senate Floor Analyses 



                                                                     SJR 20

                         SUPPORT/OPPOSITION:  NONE RECEIVED

                                   ****  END  ****