BILL ANALYSIS                                                                                                                                                                                                    

SENATE RULES COMMITTEE                            SB 187  
Office of Senate Floor Analyses
1020 N Street, Suite 524
(916) 445-6614         Fax: (916) 327-4478

                     UNFINISHED BUSINESS
Bill No:  SB 187
Author:   Hughes (D)
Amended:  9/3/97
Vote:     21

AYES:  Greene, Alpert, Dills, Hayden, Hughes, McPherson,  
  Vasconcellos, Watson
NOES:  Monteith
NOT VOTING:  Haynes, Knight, O'Connell, Sher

AYES:  Johnston, Alpert, Burton, Calderon, Karnette,  
  Kelley, Lee, Leslie, McPherson, Mountjoy
NOT VOTING:  Dills, Johnson, Vasconcellos

  SENATE FLOOR  :   24-6, 5/28/97
AYES:  Alpert, Ayala, Burton, Calderon, Costa, Haynes,  
  Hughes, Johannessen, Johnston, Karnette, Kelley, Lee,  
  Leslie, Lockyer, McPherson, O'Connell, Polanco,  
  Rosenthal, Schiff, Sher, Solis, Thompson, Watson, Wright
NOES:  Brulte, Hurtt, Knight, Lewis, Monteith, Mountjoy
NOT VOTING:  Craven, Dills, Greene, Hayden, Johnson, Kopp,  
  Maddy, Peace, Rainey, Vasconcellos

  ASSEMBLY FLOOR  :  51-24, 9/5/97 - See last page for vote

SUBJECT  :    Comprehensive school safety plans

 SOURCE  :     United Teachers of Los Angeles

DIGEST  :    This bill requires school districts and county  


offices of education (COE's) to develop comprehensive  
school safety plans, as specified.

  Assembly Amendments  :

1.Provide that an updated file of safety-related plans and  
  materials be readily available for inspection by the  

2.Provide that the bill will not limit or remove the  
  authority of school boards.

3.Delete the requirement that the plan be subject to  
  approval by a majority vote of employees.

4.Provide for a public hearing.

5.Add co-authors.

  ANALYSIS  :    Current law expresses the Legislature's intent  
that all public schools develop comprehensive school safety  
plans that address the safety concerns identified by the  
site through a systematic planning process.  Current law  
identifies a number of items these plans may contain  
including:  (1) a current assessment of school crime, (2)  
strategies and programs that will provide a high level of  
school safety, and (3) specified actions to be taken in  
conjunction with local law enforcement as specified. 

Current law also expresses the Legislature's intent that,  
in developing these plans, school sites use existing  
resources including the materials, services and matching  
grant funds of the School Safety Partnership, which is  
elsewhere provided for in statute.  Existing school site  
councils are expressly authorized to be responsible for  
developing these plans. 

This bill:

1. Revises, and makes mandatory, provisions of existing law  
   relating to comprehensive safety plans for school sites.  

2. Requires each school site, by September 1, 1998, to  
   develop a school safety plan, as specified, to be  
   evaluated annually and amended, if needed.  The bill  
   provides that these plans be written and established by  
   the School Site Council and shall include, but not be  
   limited to, a number of specified components; current  
   law only authorizes that safety plans include these  


   components.  The bill requires school sites to submit  
   their completed plans to their districts or COE, and for  
   the districts or COE's to notify the State Department of  
   Education by October 15, 1998 of any school sites which  
   have not so complied. 

3. Requires the schoolsite council to consult with local  
   law enforcement in developing the plan.

4. Allows schools to submit existing safety plans to comply  
   with this requirement, so long as the plans are in  
   existence by December 31, 1997 and contain the required  

5. Requires schools to hold a public meeting to solicit  
   public opinion on their school safety plans before  
   approving them.

6. Establishes that nothing in the bill shall restrict the  
   authority of school boards as established by the  
   Education Code.

7. Authorizes the School Site Council to delegate its  
   responsibility to develop a site safety plan to a school  
   safety planning committee.  The school safety committee  
   would, at a minimum have to include the following  
   members:  the principal (or designee), a teacher who is  
   a representative of the recognized certificated employee  
   organization, a classified employee who is a  
   representative of the recognized classified employee  
   organization, a parent who's child attends the school,  
   and others as desired.  If there is no school site  
   council, then the school safety planning committee,  
   composed of the specified members, would be required to  
   develop the school safety plan required by this bill.

8. Provides for a fine of up to $500 for the willful  
   failure to establish a school safety plan as required by  
   this bill.

9. Specifies that with regard to small school districts,  
   they have the option of developing districtwide  
   comprehensive school safety plans applicable to each  

10.Provides a sunset of January 1, 2000; however, the  
   comprehensive safety plan would continue to be evaluated  
   and amended by the schoolsite council.  Schools must  
   maintain an updated file of safety-related plans and  
   materials for public viewing.


This bill is sponsored by the United Teachers of Los  
Angeles apparently in response to safety concerns within  
the Los Angeles Unified School District.  

  FISCAL EFFECT  :   Appropriation:  No.   Fiscal Com.:  Yes    
Local:  Yes

The actual costs of this bill are unknown and depend upon  
the number of schools which have not prepared plans under  
the permissive provisions of current law and the extent to  
which existing resources can be used.

  SUPPORT  :   (Unable to reverify support and opposition at  
  time of this writing) 

United Teachers of Los Angeles (source)
American Federation of State, County and Municipal  
Berkeley Federation of Teachers
California Federation of Teachers
Governmental Relations Oversight Comm.
Los Angeles Unified School District Police Officers  
Montebello Teachers Association
Poway Federation of Teachers
San Jose Teachers Association
California Association of Supervisors of Child Welfare and  

AYES:  Aguiar, Alquist, Aroner, Baca, Bowen, Bowler, Brown,  
  Campbell, Cardenas, Cardoza, Cunneen, Davis, Ducheny,  
  Escutia, Figueroa, Gallegos, Granlund, Havice, Hertzberg,  
  Honda, Keeley, Knox, Kuehl, Leach, Lempert, Machado,  
  Martinez, Mazzoni, Migden, Morrissey, Murray, Napolitano,  
  Ortiz, Pacheco, Papan, Perata, Prenter, Scott, Shelley,  
  Strom-Martin, Sweeney, Takasugi, Thomson, Torlakson,  
  Villaraigosa, Vincent, Washington, Wayne, Wildman,  
  Wright, Bustamante
NOES:  Ackerman, Alby, Ashburn, Baldwin, Baugh, Bordonaro,  
  Brewer, Firestone, Frusetta, Goldsmith, House, Kaloogian,  
  Kuykendall, Leonard, Margett, McClintock, Miller, Morrow,  
  Olberg, Oller, Poochigian, Pringle, Runner, Woods
NOT VOTING:  Battin, Floyd, Richter, Thompson


NC:ctl  9/6/97  Senate Floor Analyses
                      ****  END  ****