CALIFORNIA LEGISLATURE

2009-10 SIXTH EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

SENATE DAILY JOURNAL

TWENTY-FIFTH LEGISLATIVE DAY

IN SENATE

Senate Chamber, Sacramento Monday, April 19, 2010

The Senate met at 1:22 p.m. Hon. Gloria Romero, of the 24th District, presiding. Secretary Greg Schmidt at the Desk. Assistant Secretary Zachary L. Twilla reading.

ROLL CALL

The roll was called and the following Senators answered to their names: Aanestad, Alquist, Ashburn, Calderon, Cedillo, Cogdill, Corbett, Correa, Cox, Denham, DeSaulnier, Ducheny, Dutton, Hancock, Harman, Hollingsworth, Huff, Kehoe, Leno, Liu, Lowenthal, Negrete McLeod, Oropeza, Padilla, Pavley, Price, Romero, Runner, Simitian, Strickland, Walters, Wolk, Wright, Wyland, and Yee—35.

Quorum present.

(NOTE: Senators Florez, Maldonado, and Wiggins will be excused this day on legislative business and Senator Steinberg will be excused this day on personal business.)

PRAYER

Prayer was offered by the Chaplain, Rabbi Mona Alfi:

The great American poet, Edward Arlington Robinson, wrote that there are "two kinds of gratitude: the sudden kind we feel for what we take, and the larger kind we feel for what we give."

His words are reminiscent of something most of us are taught as children, "It is better to give than to receive." As we get older, if we are lucky, we come to realize that life's most lasting rewards often come from those occasions when we have the opportunity to give to others, not only things, but also opportunities, or even kind and loving words. And if we are blessed, we find a way to make service to others a part of our daily lives.

May we always be so blessed to be in a position where we can give more than we take. May this be God's will.—AMEN.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG

Senator Wolk led the Senate in the pledge of allegiance to the Flag.

REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES Committee on Rules

State Capitol, April 19, 2010

The Committee on Rules has re-referred the following measures to committee:

Revenue and Taxation—SB 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 16.

LEAVES OF ABSENCE FOR THE DAY

The following Senators were granted leaves of absence for the day due to legislative business: Senators Florez, Maldonado, and Wiggins.

The following Senator was granted leave of absence for the day on personal business: Senator Steinberg.

ADJOURNMENT

At 3:30 p.m., the President declared the Senate adjourned on call of the President pro Tempore.

PAULA K. ROSSETTO, Minute Clerk